Pattern Theft!

Hello friends! I will be posting about the IHSW tomorrow, but today I wanted to bring everyone’s attention to something that happened yesterday.

On Sprite Stitch, one of the members made a post about some of our patterns being sold on a website, “Los Angeles Needlework”. I’m not going to give it the luxury of having a link from me.
So on behalf of affected SS members, I emailed the person politely to inform her of the concerns and ask her to either seek permission for use or remove the patterns. I also made a small post on her Facebook page, which was promptly deleted and I was blocked from posting anymore comments. The same happened to several other people. It then turned out that every pattern she is selling has been taken from someone else. They have all been informed and everyone is doing their best to take legitimate courses of action. The Facebook page, Pinterest and Etsy shop have been closed, but as of the time of writing the main shop site is still up and running.

I cannot tell you how despicable I think this person is. To take other people’s work and pass them off as her own and take money from people who do not need to spend it on these patterns is low. But what really annoys me is the behaviour – the deleting and blocking. It says to me that she knows what she’s doing is wrong. That is the worst part of all of this.

This is not the first incident of free patterns being sold by people who should not be selling them, and I’m sure it won’t be the last. But I wanted to share this information with my friends and readers in the hopes that we can totally discredit this individual and stop her from taking any more money from people.

Here’s some links to other posts about this:
Pattern Theft Alert!!  Los Angeles Needlework is selling our free patterns! They've swiped patterns from quilt, knitting, crochet, and embroidery designers. Help spread the word!
http://jemimabean.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/counterfeit-dresden-petal-handbag.html
http://sewhooked.com/2013/02/17/pattern-theft-alert
http://artisania.wordpress.com/2013/02/17/pattern-theft
http://www.dorkstitch.com/stolen-content

Sorry for the nature of this post, but I felt it was important to make it. Normal service will be resumed shortly, so look out for my next post! 😀

UPDATE – 19/02/2013 00:59
Just wanted to update this post with the news that the offending website has now been suspended. Well done to the crafting community for chasing this person down through legitimate means – it just goes to show that people can pull together to do things properly and have a positive effect!

4 responses to “Pattern Theft!

  1. THANKYOU for what you are doing to expose this thief….it is really so sad that we have people who are so low…..

    Like

    • blackmageheart

      It is sad. Thankfully this person’s site has now been taken down, so that’s one less thing to worry about. 😀

      Like

  2. That is just sadly pathetic. Even if I do ‘borrow’ someone’s pattern it’s usually for a gift or myself and quite often (99% of the time) I get the person’s permission first! It’s just common politeness.

    Selling someone else’s work actually makes it harder for people who want to sell their hand-crafted merch, since hand-crafted stuff is more expensive because you’re paying for creation and labor.

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Yay the power of the internet!

    Like

    • blackmageheart

      I agree! As you know, at Sprite Stitch we post patterns for people to use, but not to sell! I hope this whole thing serves as a warning to anyone who would stoop so low as to try and make money from other people’s free patterns. And I also hope that before buying patterns online, people check that they are getting the real deal before parting with any money!

      Like

Leave a Reply

