If I ever try something like this again…

…you all have my permission to do whatever it takes to stop me! What was I thinking? 245 colours! And that was AFTER I reduced them as best I could! I thought the Great Fairy piece last year was nuts, but this was just insane.
Oh, I’m talking about the Ivy piece for the Sprite Stitch quilt, that I spent my entire IHSW on. I finished it at 2:45am this morning!
Here she is:

Still looks pink on my phone camera (although to be honest, everything does!) Looks better the further back you stand from it, hehe. Despite hating it most of the way through, in that way that we do when only some of the pieces are in the puzzle, I’m really happy with how it came together. Also, pretty sure it can stand up by itself, there’s that much thread in the back. Kinda bulky in some places, but I knew that would happen because of the stupid amount of colours! It should be fine with another wash, though. (Which it will be getting when it gets to Toni, the quilter.)
I am most happy with the sword, actually – I was afraid it wasn’t going to stand out from the armour but it seems fine!
Here’s a picture I snapped of both my pieces before they left earlier today:

I feel a certain sense of relief that they are gone now. But the work for this Black Mage never stops, as I’m sure some of you know! I have (as usual) a bazillion more projects to finish, and indeed start! πŸ˜€

13 responses to “If I ever try something like this again…

  1. tiffstitch

    Yes, but she’s absolutely gorgeous! But dude.. yes, 245 for such a small piece… wouldn’t be fun to repeat that very often, or at all. Excellent work on both!

    Like

    • blackmageheart

      Thank you Tiff! You know, it was all the little scattered 1s and 2s and 3s that drove me mad! But I think I would have regretted it had I lowered the colours any more than I did!

      Like

  2. I have a feeling that I’d end up doing this too – which is why I’ve restricted myself to finding awesome sprites and icons to stitch instead of giganto scenes. But wow, BMH you are A M A Z I N G!

    Do you think at some point you could do a tutorial on your stitched stand-ees? Or have you already?

    Like

    • blackmageheart

      Thanks Maple πŸ˜€
      And I will be doing some tutorials on how to make the stand-ees / sets very very soon! πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Ooo, this looks great!! I don’t know how you could stand 245 different symbols on the chart though; I’d miss one and be all “!@#$%” and put in a veryveryclosesubstitute, hah. At least your floss box has quite the rainbow to choose from!

    Like

    • blackmageheart

      Thanks Rosey! Yeah it was really complicated but luckily PCStitch has that awesome highlight feature! I still managed to miss some and had to go back later to fill them in! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Wow, it looks really great !!! What gorgeous colors… I can’t imagine how you managed to do that, 245 colors, phhheww. Respect !!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. That is really impressive! 245 colors!?! Very insane but worth the time and the trouble! ^_^

    Like

  6. She looks fantastic!!! (I always lean back a few feet in my chair when I view pics.)

    Love the dolphin finish as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

